CREATURE FEATURE

CREATURE FEATURE

We live in Headingley on the Assiniboine river so we are fortunate as we often see many different creatures in our yard. The creature I have chosen to talk about today is a skunk as we don’t see skunks as often as they are nocturnal.

I had come home from golfing on June 3rd around 9 pm and went out into my backyard to help my dad put away our inflatable water slide. It was a warm windy evening. All of a sudden, out of the corner of my eye I saw something move in our bed of ferns by the river. It did not make a sound. It was just walking slowly along the bank of the river smelling the ground. I walked towards the thing I saw moving because I was curious to see what it was. As I got closer, I thought it was maybe a cat. Then when I got about 15 feet away, I could see its black and white coloring and realized it was a skunk. I decided not to get any closer as I didn’t want to get sprayed. I have never been so close to a skunk before, it was so neat to see it so close up.

I like skunks because I think they are cute. I also like them because when I was little my parents nickname for me was moufette which is skunk in French.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *